In Love With the Idea?

I love trees! Hence, I enjoy being in the woods, nature and most outdoors activities. However, there were times when I could not wait to get back to the hustle and bustle in the city. A friend once jokingly suggested that I’m more in love with the idea of living in the country than the actual lifestyle. Maybe…

Yes, many projects of mine were left unfinished because I either got bored or lost interest. Before announcing my most recent goal to manage a country B&B some day, I went through my head over and over again what it would actually be like living the country. The housekeeping part of it does not appeal to me very much. However, I do take good care of my living environment and start to enjoy being home-bound more often as I get older. Then I envisioned myself driving on the country roads, and through the woods. What can I say? I was immediately sold to that image with my hands in the air. Yet I must say my friend’s suggestion provoked a lot of thoughts in my head. It seems harder for me to let go because I tend to hold on to the idea of situations. The idea of fear and failure, the idea of being alone, the idea of not having enough money to get by, the idea of…

How silly am I to feel blue for these ideas when they may not be reality? And most of the time, I find myself handling the reality of a presumed scenario better than expected. Then why all the doubts?

To be honest, it has been more challenging than I thought to organize a tour package for a business purpose.  And I have slacked and wondered whether this is going to work. Am I only in love with the idea, like many of my previous “flings”? The truth is, this idea is still more appealing than doing what I do now for the rest of my life. So what if I’m more in love with the idea than the reality of adventures? As far as I know, I’ve taken actions to try out most expeditions that came across my mind when I can. How can one achieve great things if he/she is not in love with his/her own ideas?

adventures

2 comments on “In Love With the Idea?

  1. Rubella says:

    You’ve stolen the words right out of my mouth Annie, as early as I could remember I’ve always been in love with my ideas. I often lost interest in something because my love for the idea and actually doing it made me lose interest. I’ve bounced around from idea to idea and got mad at myself for not following through with just one. I must ask, are you a Libra? Our indecisiveness can get the best of us and the idea of something sometimes is better than the reality.

  2. Good to know I’m not alone, haha. Though it doesn’t sound productive to bounce from idea to idea, this is how we find our true passion. Without curiosity, we stop exploring for opportunities. I prefer keeping a low to no expectation of what life should or should not be, and just keep doing what clicks. Plus, there’s a lot of fun in the process of searching, don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

