Where do You See Yourself in 5 Years?

It sounds like a common interview question, which many of us were probably asked or ask ourselves thousands of times. Are you a planner? Or do you go with the flow and see where life leads you? Or have you achieved everything you’ve wanted. When a friend asked me this question yesterday, it took me a while to come up with an answer. And I didn’t sound as certain as I used to 5 years ago.  5 years ago, I would never have believed the kind of life I’ve had and where I end up now. When I think about “the future” now, it is a much humbler vision than what I had 5 years ago. In the past, the future scared and excited me at the same time. It scared me because I worried that things may not go according to my plans. It excited me because anything is possible. And I’m sure I’m not alone in this conflicting emotion.

Yesterday, I went to a waterfall which takes about a thousand steps to and fro for the 3rd time. Although the elevation was still challenging for me on the way back, I noticed that it took me less time to finish the steps each time. Moreover, I needed fewer stops to rest and was able to catch my breath at the end of the climb. This progress reminds me of the importance of consistency and self-discipline. My bike rides and exercises are finally paying off, despite the numerous temptation to watch movies in bed.

As far as the future goes, I expect myself to stick to my passion and learn from my past. There is no longer certainty or a title to describe the future I would like to see myself in. But this does not mean I do not have a goal. As I get older, flexibility and unconventionality become regular guests of my life. I’ve spent too much time whining and wondering why things didn’t go my way. Yet, most of the time, all I have to do is focus on what I love most and keep doing it without being sidetracked by other people’s opinions. Little by little, like the thousand step climb, I should get closer to where I really want to be 5 years from now.

One comment on “Where do You See Yourself in 5 Years?

  1. […] in for an afternoon hike.  And that started a great Sunday experience for me. A revisit to the thousand-step waterfall, where a small rainbow welcomed our arrival. Some diving actions, floating, sunbathing, and […]

Leave a Reply

